Charter School Reapplication Process

Is your charter about to expire? If your answer to this question is yes, then please read carefully. Your
charter needs to be reapplied for BEFORE it expires. This means you need to go through the
reapplication process both locally and on the state level before your charter expires.

There are several steps that need to be taken to complete the reapplication process. First, you must
obtain approval from your local school board with the contract/negotiated agreement that is required by
your district. (This may or may not be the same application required by the state.) This process is
identical to the initial application process.

Once you have obtained local approval, the completed information as listed in the Department of
Education & Early Development (EED) Charter Schools Application must be submitted to the
department within 20 working days. The application will be reviewed by a technical review committee,
forwarded to the commissioner’s office and then a recommendation is made to the State Board of
Education & Early Development.

Important factors to keep in mind when going through the reapplication process:

¢ Present your application to the local school board for approval (via a simple majority vote).

¢ Use the “Charter Schools Application” as a guide to submit your reapplication packet to the
Department. The application may be filled out or used as a guide but all headings must be addressed.

¢ The critical point is to complete the entire process before your charter expires. This means you have
to plan accordingly.

¢ Plan for enough time for the reapplication to be reviewed by the local school board, the technical
review committee at EED as well as the Commissioner and put on the State Board of Education &
Early Development docket. Remember that the Department must receive completed and approved
applications 90 days before the next regularly scheduled State Board of Education meeting.

¢ The Rating Template is used during the review process of the application by the review committee.
It is posted on the web for your information only.

Timeline:

(a) Anytime during the process of planning the application, technical assistance is available from the
charter school program manager at the Department of Education & Early Development.

(b) After local school board approval of contract/negotiated agreement with the district, an existing
charter school must send the state’s application (including required documents with original
signatures where necessary) and the approved school board minutes to the department within 20
working days. This is required by AS 14.03.250(c) and 4 AAC 33.110(g).

(c) Mail to: Alaska Department of Education & Early Development, Attn: Charter School Program
Manager, 801 W. 10th Street, Suite 200, P.O. Box 110500, Juneau, Alaska 99811 -0500.
(d) The completed application must be in the hands of the charter school program manager no later

than 90 days before the next regular scheduled meeting of the State Board of Education & Early
Development. See schedule at: http://www.eed.state.ak.us/State_Board/

If you have any questions please feel free to contact Marian Svobodny by email at
marian.svobodny@alaska.gov or by phone at 465-8718.
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