

The Alaska Reads Act



Eligibility for Early Education Program Approval and 0.5 ADM Funding

The Alaska Reads Act (House Bill 114, Chapter 40, SLA 2022) provides school districts with the opportunity to build and grow their early education programs for 4- and 5-year-old students by providing Foundation Formula funding to approved district-wide early education programs.

For a school district to count early education children as one-half (0.5) of a full-time equivalent student, DEED must approve its early education program as a High-Quality Early Education Program. School districts will:

- Consult with all local and tribal Head Start programs within the district service area;
- Submit an application for Early Education Program Approval and 0.5 ADM Funding by May 15;
- Provide evidence that Alaska Early Education Program Standards are currently being met; and,
- Receive approval from the Department of Education and Early Development by September 1.

There are instances when 4- and 5-year-old students cannot be counted in a district's average daily membership (ADM) that determines Foundation Formula funding. Students that are enrolled in early education programs that receive state and/or federal funding specifically for pre-kindergarten programs are not eligible to be counted in a district's ADM. See the table below. For example, the Early Education Program Grant and the State Pre-Elementary Grant have one purpose, to improve early education in the state, thus students attending these programs **cannot** be counted in a district's ADM.

On the other hand, funding sources that have multiple purposes, not solely for pre-kindergarten programs, can supplement Foundation Formula funding. For example, Title I, Part A funds can be used for a variety of purposes. These funds are provided to districts with high numbers or percentages of children from low-income families to help ensure that all children meet challenging academic standards. Since these funds can be used for PreK-12 education, they are not provided specifically for early education programs. Students who are 4- and 5-years old attending these programs **can** be counted in a district's ADM.

Local/State/Federal Funding Sources {AS 14.17.500(e)}	
Allowable	Not Allowable
 Title I, Part A funds can supplement Foundation Formula funding Title I, Part C Migrant Education Program funds can supplement Foundation Formula funding Local funding 	 Federal Grants that go directly to the district for pre-kindergarten purposes only Head Start State Grant Head Start Federal Grant State Pre-Elementary Grant State Early Education Program Grant

Alaska Department of Education and Early Development (September 2024)