

## Alaska Reads Act for Parents Explaining the 3rd Grade Waiver 2024

What is the 3rd grade waiver?

At least 45 days before the end of school, using the end of year or spring mCLASS screener data, you will be updated if your student is high risk for a reading deficiency and describe the difficulty this could present to their academic success in 4th grade. Following the meeting and looking at all the information, you will decide if your child continues to the next grade.

In Alaska, a parent/guardian can request that their child be promoted to the next grade regardless of reading proficiency. In 3rd grade, 20 hours of reading intervention will be available in the summer to your child. While the parent has the ultimate authority about grade promotion, it would be best to talk with the student's teaching team to create the 20 hours of summer intervention which best meets the needs of your child. You will be then asked to sign a waiver that you have received all the information. Here are some sample questions you can ask the school:





## Parent Questions to Ask the School 2024

- 1. In addition to the Literacy Screener, what other reading assessments were given this year and how did my child score?
- 2. What reading supports did the school give my child this year and what progress has my child made?
- 3.Can you describe how my child's Individual Reading Improvement Plan met their reading needs?
- 4. What are the core skills that my child needs to work on to get back on track?
- 5. How have my child's reading skills impacted their other academic subject areas?
- 6. If I choose to have my child move up to grade 4, what reading supports will my child receive next year?
- 7. What can I do to support my child at home with learning to read?
- 8. What resources, tutoring programs, or other afterschool programs are available for my child? Have these local resources helped other children with similar learning needs?

