

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE August 31, 2012

Finalists named for Alaska Teacher of the Year

JUNEAU -- Five teachers have been chosen as finalists for Alaska Teacher of the Year 2013. They are Christopher Benshoof, Fairbanks School District; Brandy J. Bishop, Mat-Su School District; Tim Buckley, North Slope School District; Sarah Edwards, Dillingham City School District; and Pamela Moe, Cordova School District.

The Alaska Teacher of the Year and an alternate will be chosen by a committee composed of members of major educational associations and the current 2012 Teacher of the Year, who is Cara Heitz. The committee will meet on September 24, 2012.

The Alaska Teacher of the Year may be called upon to speak at education conferences and participate in various statewide education working groups. The teacher is the Alaska nominee for national teacher of the year.

For more information contact: Patricia Truman at <u>patricia.truman@alaska.gov</u> or 907-269-6579. Or see <u>www.eed.state.ak.us/RecognitionPrograms/TOY/</u>

###

