

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE March 17, 2014

New Members Sworn In at State Board Meeting

JUNEAU – Three new members of the State Board of Education & Early Development were sworn into office on March 13 at the board's meeting in Juneau. Governor Parnell appointed to the board Kenneth Gallahorn of Kotzebue, Kathleen Yarr of Ketchikan, and Barbara Thompson of Douglas.

Yarr was appointed January 27 to fill the seat of Patrick Shier, who moved out of the First Judicial District. Yarr's term expires March 1, 2016. Yarr holds a B.A. in English education and an M.A. in English from Western Washington University. She teaches prevention classes to first-time drug and alcohol offenders through the Ketchikan Youth Court. Yarr also has taught in the Tribal Scholars' Program at Ketchikan Indian Community, in public and private schools, and at the University of Alaska Southeast.

Gallahorn's appointment began March 1. His term ends March 1, 2019. He serves in the seat for the Second Judicial District, following the term of Carol Schaeffer. Gallahorn holds a diploma from Kotzebue High School and is Public Services Director for the Northwest Arctic Borough. Previously, he has owned a business, managed an airport, and trained mine employees.

Thompson's appointment began March 1. Her term ends March 1, 2019. She serves in an at-large seat, following the term of Janel Keplinger. Thompson holds a B.A. in sociology from San Diego State University and an M.A. in Teaching Adult and Community Education from Alaska Pacific University. Thompson is an education consultant. Previously, she was a vice president and director at the Education Commission of the States, Interim Alaska Commissioner of Education, and longtime administrator in the Alaska Department of Education & Early Development.

###