www.Education.Alaska.Gov



## Department of Education and Early Development

Juneau, Alaska

## STATE OF ALASKA

PRESS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE June 10, 2019

## State Board Adopts Revised Science and Digital Literacy Standards, Adds Computer Science Standards

JUNEAU -- The State Board of Education and Early Development, meeting June 7 in Anchorage, adopted amendments to regulations that update the K-12 science standards, update the technology standards as digital literacy standards, and add computer science standards as a new content area.

All three content standards were written and reviewed by Alaskan educators. Alaska's science standards and technology standards were last revised in 2006. The adopted science standards were shaped around the Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS), and include applications of scientific principles and skills in an Alaskan context. Knowledge of computer science principles is an increasingly critical workforce-readiness skill. The new computer science standards would not require the establishment of a computer science program in schools, but would create a unified foundation for school districts with existing programs and for those that choose to develop programs.

The board also adopted the latest school and school system accreditation documents published by AdvancED. The Department of Education and Early Development (DEED) recognizes school accreditation status in regulation as determined by AdvancED Northwest.

The board approved ten-year renewals of charters for Watershed Charter School in the Fairbanks North Star Borough School District and Ayaprun Elitnaurvik Charter School in the Lower Kuskokwim School District.

The board approved the appointments of Janet Woods to the Parent Representative Seat and Lois Rhodes as the Sitka Community Representative on the Mt. Edgecumbe High School Advisory Board.

Lastly, the board set their 2019-2020 meeting schedule, confirmed member appointments to board subcommittees, approved the minutes from the March 29 and April 24 meetings, and re-elected James Fields as Chair, Dr. Keith Hamilton as First Vice-Chair, and Lorri Van Diest as Second Vice-Chair to serve from July 1, 2019 to June 30, 2020.

The June 7 meeting packet and 2019-2020 board meeting schedule are posted at <a href="https://education.alaska.gov/State\_Board">https://education.alaska.gov/State\_Board</a>. The next board meeting will be held on July 24 by audio conference.

###

Media Contact: Erin Hardin, Information Officer, (907) 465-6535\_Y DEVELOPI