- Cama-i, quyana tailuci!
- (Central Yup’ik)
- "Greetings, thank you for coming!"
In 2006, a collection of Alaska Statutes 14.33.200-14.33.250 were signed into law to address harassment, intimidation and bullying in all public schools. These laws require school districts to adopt a policy prohibiting bullying of any student, report any incidents resulting in suspension or expulsion for harassment, intimidation or bullying to the Department of Education and Early Development, and afford protections against reprisals for individuals to report suspected incidents to school officials.
Sample School Policy
The following sample harassment, intimidation and bullying policy is provided as a courtesy by the Association of Alaska School Boards (AASB).
- American Academy of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
- Children’s Safety Network
- Girls Health
- National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine: Preventing Bullying Through Science, Policy and Practice
- National Center on Safe Supportive Learning Environments
- National Crime Prevention Council
- National Education Association
- Stop bullying
- U.S. Department of Education, Guiding Principles, A Resource Guide for Improving School Climate and Discipline
- U.S. Department of Education's Office of Safe and Healthy Students' Center for School Preparedness
According to the 2017 Alaska Youth Risk Behavior Survey (YRBS), in the 12 months prior to the survey, 23.3% of high school students at traditional high schools were bullied on school property and 19.8% were electronically bullied (via email, texting, social media, etc.). Alarmingly, 11.5% of high school students reported they did not go to school (on at least 1 day during the last 30 days) because they felt unsafe at school or on their way to school.
- Reported incidents of harassment, intimidation, or bullying resulting in a suspension or expulsion — 2007-2018 (pdf)